Convoy C8 Mod for Bike Light

I have wanted to get a driver that would allow me to have the fancy pants bike strobes I see on the $30 – 100 bike lights, but with all the quality and power of the convoy C8, so I am now in a quest to either find or build the driver I want.

Specifically, I’m looking for 2 modes: medium brightness and bike strobe.

High brightness is okay, but not much perceptible difference at night or daytime, which means wasted mAh.   I’d also like to not have to cycle through all the modes I don’t use to get to the strobe level. Further, standard 5-10 Hz strobes are annoying to a lot of people and combined with the brightness of the C8, I can understand.  It is at the crossroads of visibility and annoyance.

 

Convoy C8 Specifications:

  • Body Diameter: 25.5mm
  • Head Diameter: 44.5mm
  • Length:  145mm
  • Weight: 145g
  • MCPCB required: 20mm
  • Driver diameter required: 17mm
  • Reflector finish: Smooth

Product Arrived and was pretty straightforward to install.

The main advantage is the addition of the bike strobe which is a constant on at about 60% with a flicker strobe.

 

I wish I could have med and bike strobe as the only modes.  The code for the driver is available and is named “biscotti” so the next step is to use the old driver and reflash it with an arduino as an ISP to get a set of custom modes.

Leave a Reply

